Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all,

RIP to Chyna and Balls Mahoney.

Two wrestlers who entertained us during the late 90s/early 2000s. 

I breakdown what to expect at Payback.

Give it a listen at link above.

WWE World Heavyweight Championship

Roman Reigns vs AJ Styles

WWE made lots of money for WrestleMania 32. Records were shattered selling merchandise & gate at AT&T Stadium & also the all time attendance record for a WrestleMania. 101, 763 to be exact. WWE also realizes that after all of these injuries that occurred (Cena, Rollins, Cesaro, Orton) just to name a few, it is time to build future stars.

Raw has been doing a great job pushing certain characters and also calling up wrestlers from NXT. AJ Styles has wrestled all over the world. Although it did not make sense for him to lose at WrestleMania, it has been fun finally having AJ Styles in the WWE. What better guy to try to get Roman over than AJ Styles! TNA, New Japan, the guy has wrestled everywhere. Do I expect for AJ to win? No. 

However, WWE has something brewing with the arrival of Karl Anderson, Doc Gallows and Finn Balor losing the NXT title a few nights ago. There has not been so much speculation about a faction reuniting since DX or NWO. Roman will walk out of Payback champion. However who will align with who? That is the most intriguing part.

WWE Intercontinental Championship

Miz vs Cesaro

Austin, Cena, hey even myself have been advocating to #PushCesaro

Happy to see that is finally happening.

They guy looks like Jason Staham out of the Transporter. So why not run with it and he has. Cesaro has been on fire and picked up where he left off in the fall.

For the Miz, I agree with guys from Chair Shot Reality that The Miz does better when he is with someone. He feeds off their energy (Morrison, Sandow, Riley, Maryse). I expect Cesaro to finally grab brass ring. It begins with winning the Intercontinental Championship.

I just don’t think it will be at Payback. I think Cesaro should chase until at least Money In the Bank before capturing the championship. It is always better when the face chases for the championship. 

WWE Women’s Championship

Charlotte with Flair vs Natayla with Bret

These two had an awesome feud in NXT. I don’t like that Becky Lynch or Sasha Banks after failing to capture the newly christened Women’s Championship at WrestleMania, they are an after thought.

At least have a 2nd feud for the Women.

Natayla is great but I feel that Sasha should the one chasing. I expect Sasha to have her moment at SummerSlam in Brooklyn and win the Women’s Title from Charlotte.

#1 Contendership for WWE Tag Team Championship

Vaudevillians vs Enzo & Amore

I love that finally WWE is stressing Tag Team Wrestling again. I’m just afraid that a team like Ascension or Vaudevillians gimmicks work in NXT but can’t translate to main roster. Look at Adam Rose, Bo Dallas, Ascension. All great in NXT but can’t translate to main roster. It is not all their fault but still.

I don’t expect New Day to lose for a while after selling the most merchandise WrestleMania weekend. However, I expect a great tag team title match.

Sami Zayn vs Kevin Owens

I have nothing bad to say about this feud. It doesn’t hurt either man. It has translated well from NXT. I expect a great match at Payback. I wouldn’t be surprised if it got personal for extreme rules or even money in the bank in June.

Sit back and enjoy this one.

Chris Jericho vs Dean Ambrose

I understand that Dean wanted to kick it up a notch at WrestleMania vs Brock Lesnar but WWE management held him back. I expected Dean to step up at WrestleMania, push character to new heights. I don’t know, I just expected more from Lesnar bout. Maybe it was cut short to give Roman Reigns vs Triple H more time? Who knows.

His feud is now with Chris Jericho. A true professional, loves to work with the younger talent. Although, he put Fandango over at WrestleMania 29 but defeats AJ Styles at WrestleMania 32? I still puzzled over that. Anyway, I expect this to be a great feud for Dean and hopefully maintain him in the main event. Barring any injuries, Dean will have another opportunity to be the man. It just will not happen for now.

Give the show a listen. Link above.

Thanks for reading !

